top of page
Our Doctors

The University Nephrology practice at the University of Tennessee Medical Center is comprised of 4 board certified nephrologist. UT Medical Center has a robust kidney transplant program. Dr. Rivers and Dr. Suresh are the medical directors of the transplant program. Our primary office is located at UT Medical Center and three satellite offices located in Maryville, Sevierville, Jefferson City, Lenoir City, and Caryville.​
suresh headshot_edited.jpg
Denise Rivers, DO

Certification: American Board of Internal Medicine, Nephrology
Schools: University of Health Sciences College
Internships: Springfield Hospital
Residencies: Lankenau Hospital
Fellowships: University of Texas Southwestern; Vanderbilt University

Affiliations: American Society of Nephrology; American Medical Association; American College of Physicians; Renal Physicians Association

Urath Suresh, MD

Certification: American Board of Internal Medicine, Nephrology
Schools: Royal Colleges of Physicians of the United Kingdom; University of Calcutta
Residencies: St. Francis Medical Center
Fellowships: State University of New York

Affiliations: Medical Director of Kidney and Pancreas Transplant; Chief, Division of Nephrology, University of Tennessee Graduate School of Medicine; American Society of Nephrology;  American Society of Transplantation; East Tennessee Kidney Foundation

Khanna Headshot.gif
Ritu Khanna, MD

Certification: American Board of Internal Medicine, Nephrology
Schools: East Tennessee State University

School of Medicine
Internships: Loyola University Medical Center
Residencies: Loyola University Medical Center
Fellowships: Loyola University Medical Center

Affiliations: East Tennessee Kidney Foundation Board Member; American Society of Nephrology


Ross Headshot.PNG
Ross Nesbit, MD

Certification: American Board of Internal Medicine, Nephrology
Schools: University of South Carolina
Internships: Carolinas Medical Center
Residencies: Carolinas Medical Center
Fellowships: Vanderbilt University Medical Center

Affiliations: American Society of Nephrology; American College of Physicians

Nurse Practitioners
Stephanie Burgett, MSN, APRN-BC

Schools: Carson-Newman University;

Tennessee Technological University

Affiliations:  East Tennessee Kidney Foundation Advisory Board Adjunct Member; Carson-Newman Graduate School of Nursing Adjunct Faculty

Certifications: American Association of Nurse Practitioners 


kaci pic.jpg
Andrew Brower, FNP-BC

Schools: Carson-Newman University;

University of Tennessee 

Affiliations:  American Nurses Association

Certifications: American Nurses Credentialing Center 

Kaitlin Green, FNP-BC

Schools: Lincoln Memorial University,

University of Tennessee

Affiliations:  American Nurses Association; 

Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society 

Certifications: American Association of Nurse Practitioners 

Kaci Newlin, FNP-BC

Schools: Carson-Newman University 

Certifications:  American Nurses Credentialing Center 


bottom of page